is part of a philosophy within Ultima Online known as the Virtues, and is
one of eight pursuits within the Virtue system.

The Virtue of Sacrifice has been described as:

courage to give of oneself in the name of love.

Pursuit of Sacrifice
will be designed to allow players to interact with “monsters” in a manner
other than one of combat.

Sacrifice & Redemption:
mageCharacters that attain
a level of Fame will be able to “sacrifice” their Fame in order to defeat
certain monsters. Upon encountering a related, “redeemable” monster, players
will be able to sacrifice their Fame to defeat the monster in the following

  • Open
    up the Virtue gump.

  • Double-click
    the Sacrifice (teardrop) symbol

  • Target
    the monster

The following
is a list of monsters which may be redeemed with the sacrifice of one’s Fame:

  • Lich

  • Enslaved

  • Gargoyle

  • (Regular)

  • Succubus

  • Evil Mage

You cannot target
a redeemable monster if:

  • It has already
    taken more than 15% of its maximum hit points in damage.

  • You cannot
    see it (you must have line-of-sight).

  • You are

  • You are

Attempts to sacrifice
Fame to anything other than the redeemable monsters will have no effect. Once
a monster is redeemed, the following will occur:

  • The character’s
    Fame is set to “zero.”

  • The monster
    disappears in a cloud of particles

  • The character
    will gain a certain amount in Sacrifice, depending on how much Fame was
    lost in the redemption—the greater the Fame loss, the more Sacrifice is

A given character
can sacrifice his Fame only once per 24 hour period.

Virtuous Title & Abilities:
virtueWhen a character
has achieved any number of Sacrifice points, he is considered to have achieved
a certain step on the path of Sacrifice. When a player moves his cursor over
the Sacrifice symbol, a title will be displayed, indicating the step currently
achieved in Sacrifice for that character.

  • First step:
    Seeker of Sacrifice

  • Second step:
    Follower of Sacrifice

  • Third step:
    Knight of Sacrifice

Players who progress
any number of steps on the path of Sacrifice, but do not continue to actively
pursue it, may discover that this Virtuous title reduces in steps over time.
Gaining steps in Sacrifice will grant a character the ability to resurrect
himself a number of times each week, equal to the steps achieved in Sacrifice.
Players will be able to access this ability by clicking the Sacrifice symbol
on their own Virtue gump.

  • First step:
    Self-resurrect one time per week

  • Second step:
    Self-resurrect two times per week

  • Third step:
    Self-resurrect three times per week

There will be
certain notable benefits & caveats of self-resurrecting:

  • Players
    will be able to instantly resurrect their characters which have achieved
    any number of steps on this path of Virtue.

  • Self-resurrecting
    characters will not suffer any stat or skill loss normally associated
    with “insta-resurrection.” However, effects such as Murderer-based stat-loss,
    Faction-based stat-loss, etc., will still apply.

  • Self-resurrected
    characters will only have 1 Hit Point and 1 Mana Point upon resurrection,
    just as if he was resurrected by a healer, friend, or shrine.

  • Characters
    which self-resurrect will instantly recover all the items they had on
    their corpse, except for any items which have been looted or decayed.

    • Self-resurrecting
      characters will not be able to recover items in this way if they move
      across a server boundary into another server region. Characters in
      this situation will receive a notice to his effect before allowing
      such a self-resurrection.

  • Characters
    will not be able to self-resurrect:

    • …within
      a “multi-object” (a house, boat, etc.).

    • …within
      a faction stronghold

    • …while
      flagged as a criminal or aggressor